The Regrettable Reason Why SSO Users Have To Be Forcibly Signed-out on Mobile

You probably heard that we announced a security incident earlier today. If you didn’t see the blog post, you will have seen the emails. At the same time,…

You probably heard that we announced a security incident earlier today. If you didn’t see the blog post, you will have seen the emails.

At the same time, we released Two Factor Authentication. This release was earlier than planned and it still had a few kinks (we wanted to get it out as soon as possible). Smoothing those kinks out requires some changes to our authentication system which will cause a small pain in the butts of many mobile users.

Specifically, nearly all users who

  • are using a Single Sign On (SSO) service (including Google Auth), or
  • have not (re-)signed in to Slack on their mobile device since August of last year,

…are going to be force-signed out of their teams. That means the team will just disappear and will need to be re-added (if you are signed in to more than one team, you may need to use the “Switch Teams” button, which you can find at the bottom of the right-hand menu). We sincerely apologize for this, but the alternative was an even bigger pain in the butt for a much larger number of people.

There’s more information on enabling Two Factor Authentication, including mobile, in this document on our help center. (And just a reminder, Slack’s 2FA is not available for teams using SSO, as authentication is handled by the SSO system.)

Sorry about this, and thank you for your patience.

Slack is the collaboration hub, where the right people are always in the loop and key information is always at their fingertips. Teamwork in Slack happens in channels — searchable conversations that keep work organized and teams better connected.